[Kdrama] ‘Save Me (OCN)’ ep 1&2 ~ first impression/ opinion/review ~

It’s a really uncomfortable drama to watch but at the same time you can’t stop. It tackles so many important aspects and all are shown in a way that made me vomit. I don’t know, maybe my stomach is too weak but it was disturbing watching the bulling scene in the bathroom and the scene where the weird white haired guy put his hand on Sang Mi’s tight.  Just ew!

The directing plays a major role in creating a great atmosphere. I rarely found myself liking this broadcast channel’s directing style, but lately OCN stepped up their game.

In the first episode, the adult actors did lead most of the time, if not all the time. The director puts what appears to be insignificant scenes into light and with that it gives us an idea what it might happen in the next episodes. However, I personally found the first episode to be somewhat boring but at the same time I didn’t want to fast forward any scenes. If I did, I would not be able to understand the characters in the following episodes. Props to the writer and the director for that.

I like the laid back style of filming, but that can also make the drama hard to watch for some considering that it’s more like an “I want to be artsy fartsy” movie but in a drama version. For me, things were moving a bit too slow. Some character introductions were boring but that’s probably because I’m an impatient person so I wanted things to move faster.  Overall, Save Me is the type of drama that you either like or not at all. You either find it exciting or plain boring, there’s no in between.

Regarding the acting, as I already said the adult actors did well but I’m iffy about Taecyeon and Seo Ye Ji’s casting. I find the responsibility of their characters to be way over their acting abilities and that may drag the drama backwards. Luckily the story is not entirely about their characters and secondary characters matter more, or at least that’s the vibe I got in these two episodes. There’s also the problem that both don’t have the screen charisma required for such stories, just plain boring folks. The other actors express so much only with their facial expression that puts these two to shame.

From my point of view, to be able to enjoy this drama, you need to be able to read between the lines. There are a lot of hidden meanings especially within the lines of the people from the cult. It’s nothing complicated, everything is laid out for the viewer. But again, Save Me requires a bit of thinking and if you are watching it like a dead fish then you won’t get anything, not only the story but the characters as well.

What is missing from this show so far is the ability to make the viewer feel a tingling filling, a thrill or something. After the first week, I can’t say that I’m looking forward to see what happens next. More like, I enjoy the atmosphere of the show rather than having curiosity about the story’s development.

4 comments

  1. I’m going to try to watch this soon! I’ll keep your warnings in mind… If I find something I like then I can watch this type of style but if not I’ll probably end up DNFing. Great first impression review ❤

    1. Tell me if you liked the show after you tried it. Also thank you for the comment and for reading~

      1. I will! Trying it soon ♥️

  2. This drama is copy of cure of illness movie.I did write this on the drama comment section.Guess what I was banned for spoiler which does indicate my prediction was correct.

Leave a Reply

