[Kdrama] ‘My Secret Romance’ ep 1-4 ~ first impression/ opinion/review ~

OCN didn’t invest much in this drama considering that it’s on the level of a web drama. Ji Eun’s acting is okay, but not for a main lead. Although this is a cable drama, and the first romance drama from OCN, I should say that she’s good for the role but in fact she’s not that good. Again, if this was a web drama she would’ve match well, but normally as a viewer, I would like better production and acting from a cable broadcast channel.

The story overall, reminds me of the Korean dramas from 10 years ago. If this was 2007, then maybe I would’ve showed more interest but since it’s 2017, well, I can’t show any trace of interest in their romance so far, or the story as a whole.

On drama wiki it says that My Secret Romance has two screenwriters. Either they are new, fresh out of the oven and they were given this project as a taste test or they are not on good terms since some scenes are pretty random. Having two writers I would normally think that the two will do some brainstorming and come up with some good writing but it’s not the case of this show. I don’t want to be utterly rude, but regardless I want to say it, the writing is cheap.

Judging from the preview of episode 5, I think they will pick up the story and we finally get to see more than Jin Wook complaining about her food.  However, maybe because I am someone who get her heart easily stolen by second leads, I like Yoo Mi’s interaction with Hyun Tae a bit more than with Jin Wook. I don’t know, it’s just that there’s no chemistry between the actors, Sung Hoon and Ji Eun.

Actually, before I finished episode 4 I was ready to drop this drama, I was thinking that they won’t get anywhere since the story barely progressed but I’ll give it one more chance after episode 5 and 6. I’m not saying that My Secret Romance is bad, but I want to try more episodes considering that some stories need time, and this drama might also need time turn good…hopefully.

8 comments

  1. I cannot agree with this comment. Ji Euns acting is spot on for someone who is doing this for the first time. Shame on you for picking on her. I guess everyone’s untitled to their own opinion.I will agree that I like her better with Hyun Tae better but that’s because I always root for the underdog. I’m sure that her brother will turn out to be her and Sung Hoons son. Since he’s 3 and she doesn’t want to tell him he’s her brother. But while it’s cheesy it is refreshing instead of seeing all the sex and violence prevailing in movies today. I rather have my head filled with light and fluff after I’ve had a demanding day. So while the story may not be great I’m okay with it.

  2. Intitled not untitled

  3. I cannot agree with this comment. Ji Euns acting is spot on for someone who is doing this for the first time. Shame on you for picking on her. I guess everyone’s intitled to their own opinion.I will agree that I like her better with Hyun Tae better but that’s because I always root for the underdog. I’m sure that her brother will turn out to be her and Sung Hoons son. Since he’s 3 and she doesn’t want to tell him he’s her brother. But while it’s cheesy it is refreshing instead of seeing all the sex and violence prevailing in movies today. I rather have my head filled with light and fluff after I’ve had a demanding day. So while the story may not be great I’m okay with it.

    1. I just don’t think she has what it takes for a main character. Shame on me, why exactly? I just stated my own opinion on her acting, that’s why I made this blog, to voice my opinion. I didn’t say she is bad. Ji Eun is okay, but, again, not enough for a main.

      I do agree with you, sometimes a lighter story is better than what we have on other movies or shows.

  4. Eunhye Kim · · Reply

    everyone has there own views.. well in my opinion, though Ji eun’s acting may not be the best but her character was still potrayed well

  5. Eunhye Kim · · Reply

    Everyone has their flaws especially if they started not Long ago… but will improve as time passes

  6. Yaminoshuuen · · Reply

    I agree with your review. I find the story really cheap and shallow and I don’t know where it’s going to lead. I stopped watching after episode 6 because I just couldn’t take it anymore. It seems like the story is just revolving around them flirting and that bra pad thingy. I feel bad about Sung Hoon coz I think he’s a really good actor but he deserve a much better project than this one that will showcase his full potential.

    1. I didn’t even get to ep 6. I’m just not in the mood for this story because overall isn’t my type.

      Agree, the writing isn’t good and he needs to get a better project in the future.

Leave a Reply

