[Kdrama] Dropped summer dramas

Drama world isn’t always on roses and their stories are not always on my liking. Being aware that dramas may disappoint you at some point, I still try to start new dramas with an open heart towards the actors, the plot or its production staff.

That being said, I have to admit that lately I’ve been dropping dramas like potatoes. But I want to make something clear, sometimes, a dropped drama doesn’t mean it is bad. Simply, I couldn’t cope with it or it wasn’t the right time to start that particular drama because, maybe, I wasn’t in the mood for such story.

You are a Gift

Those following me on twitter will probably be aware of this drama. More like, they are aware of me talking, ranting or cursing Shim Ji ho for eating too much cheesecakes. Anyway, because of my love for him, I wanted to take on a new challenge, a daily Korean drama. However, no matter how much I love Shim Ji Ho, there are things I can’t handle. The story is too much and maybe it’s because I’m not used with the type but what I know for sure, is that I won’t give up my free time so easily for a drama that lacks in everything. No, therefore I’m out!

38 Task Force

This drama had a great start, the acting is good, the editing as well yet there’s something lacking. Is it just me who feels like this? Probably! I did see other Asian drama bloggers enjoying it, just that 38 Task Force didn’t do the trick for me. The cause? The plot. Something within the story doesn’t make me overflow with excitement for a new episode nor to look forward to the next episode. As I was watching this drama, I reach a point where watching it felt like a task. But again, it wasn’t because the drama is bad, so don’t misunderstand. Also, I do think that others should try it out, for me it wasn’t the right moment to start it.

Doctors

Bad story and overwhelming romance? Best combo for me to ignore the drama. Kim Rae Won and Park Shin Hye are good actors but their love story is just …takes too much of the story. Frankly, if it wasn’t for them, then the story or the drama wouldn’t have the popularity or the attention it currently has. While I do understand that, sometimes, the popularity of an actor matters, for me it means nothing. I want to watch a drama, a story that will make my heart flutter but not thanks to its cheesiness. Rather, I would watch a no name actor, of course good at acting, but who plays a well written story. Also, when I was watching Doctors, I always felt that something was missing from the overall package and at times the development felt all over the place.

Wanted

I’m still not 100% if I should drop it. I do like the story and its characters, the acting is great. However it’s too similar to God’s Gift. The similarity isn’t what bothers me, or at least I don’t think of it in a negative way, but the fact that I already seen the same story just with different actors is enough for me.

Uncontrollably Fond

Oh boy. I was actually one of those who defended Suzy and Woo Bin’s acting. I still think they aren’t the worst nor the best. Their acting style is good for romance comedies but this time they challenged something that is way over their abilities. That’s nothing bad, to challenge yourself however it doesn’t mean that, me, the viewer will accept everything.

Form the way I see it, the writer is a bit of a problem here. She wrote something that is hard to deliver, for them, moreover the story, most of the times, doesn’t have a continuation. What I want to say is that the flow of the story and its development is somewhat not connecting.

W

I’m thinking of dropping this one. The show, overall, it is really interesting and doesn’t let me get my eye off the screen. Even so, I can’t say I’m entirely committed to the show. The idea behind the drama is probably the best out of this season but to be honest, the characters lack a lot. The relationship between the two main characters wasn’t give time to blend and solidify but they are already in love? The story and its development is being rushed and the characters aren’t strong enough to have an impact. I won’t even mention the secondary characters that aren’t present at all. I won’t drop it for now, but probably after this week I will make my final decision.

The list may be long but these dramas were actually projects I was looking forward to. Seeing how all of them turned out is quite disappointing for me as a viewer. I wish Korean drama producers will step back in the game and make watchable projects. What’s the point of having popular actors, if the story lacks. From this list, it is visible that my major displease is with the writing. Or maybe it’s just me, probably I got bored with Korean dramas? No! That doesn’t seem like a passable answer since I totally enjoy Age of Youth and Five Children.

3 comments

  1. I agree about W, thinking of dropping it myself after this week. Like the idea, but the execution leaves something to be desired. The main leads are not fleshed out enough and supporting cast is completely irrelevant at this point. And the romance is rushed and doesn’t feel genuine. It saddens me, because I can see the potential in it, but I feel like the writer hasn’t worked on the idea long enough for everything to make sense and fall into place naturally :/

    1. Exactly. I feel the same. The writer had the idea but didn’t work on the details, now the story isn’t doing anything much for the characters or the other way around.

  2. […] Four Seasons Dramas, Dropped Summer Dramas. We may have different tastes, but it impressed me that you gave each of the dramas such a fair […]

Leave a Reply

