[Kdrama] ‘Uncontrollably Fond’ ep 1&2 ~ first impression/ opinion/review ~

Not sure if I have a lot of things to say about this drama to make a consistent post apart from some obvious problems but I will try anyway. Probably one of the most awaited drama of the year, Uncontrollably Fond started airing this week. With Suzy and Kim Woo Bin, I was expecting the high (somehow high) ratings but I was sure that there will be a lot of problems in the acting department.

After the first two episodes, I’ve notices a lot of complains about the acting. Regarding Woo Bin and Suzy, let’s not be so harsh, there are well established actors and actresses with over 10 years career that can’t transmit any kind of emotion. In Woo Bin and Suzy’s case, they are definitely not the best, but don’t argue that they are the worst because it’s not, however their acting does require improvement.

What I personally don’t like about their acting is that with Woo Bin, he always has a pattern that he always follows and I rarely see new elements added. For Suzy’s part, she is pretty, obviously, but to me there are a lot more important things than the actress or the actor to be pretty respectively good looking. She is okaish for a high school level drama but when it comes to heavy melodrama project, Suzy hits herself on a wall. She has problems showing emotion, with her face particularly. There’s always a limit with what she can show and what not.

For me, the biggest problem with this show isn’t the acting, but the story and its flow. Well, I have a story with this writer, more like a love-hate relationship from way back. I always had my doubts when it comes to the writer, Lee Kyung Hee.

Lee Kyung Hee is messing around with the story, she always does that. She can make one of the saddest stories, I cried my eyes out during Will It Snow For Christmas and Sorry I Love You but at the same time she can throw a perfect awesome story to the garbage with her writing.  She can create the most amazing stories but when she either loses interest or falls out of ideas, everything is destroyed as she does a half assed work on it. For me, Will It Snow For Christmas was wonderful, perfect drama until the writer got bored with it and gave one of the characters amnesia. The same patter was shown in Nice Guy as well and I think it Wonderful Days also but I’m not sure about this one.

Let’s say we can live with mediocre acting and weird writing but what about the directing? For me, directing and camerawork are really important especially when it plays a major role in establishing the mood of the story. In this drama, there are times when the camerawork is good but also times when it isn’t and this is kinda a turn off for me. It’s like the director was in a bathroom break and he let one of the directors who make daily dramas to take care of some scenes. It is sad, because I’ve seen a few landscapes that could’ve been used way better.

As a whole, I’m not entirely sure what to think of Uncontrollably Fond after seeing the first two episodes. Considering the promotions they constantly did, I had high expectation but it turned out to be way under what I, or probably most of us, was expecting. But I will continue to watch this one, for Suzy and Woo Bin – I never thought I will say this, but yes, at this point they are the reason I want to continue watching this drama.

2 comments

  1. Img how much do I kove your review. It’s great to read a review where someone appreciates the camera work and directing. I personally always notice the editing of any work because I believe no matter how bad a scene is, the right amount of editing can eliminate some of the flaws

    I actually really like this show because it’s preproduce and hankens back to the early 90s melodrama that korea got famouse for.

    1. Thank you. I do agree with you that the editing can eliminate flaws from the acting form the writing.

      With your comment you made me miss those dramas. Although old, they were well produced.

Leave a Reply

