[Kdrama] Looking forward Winter season list (Jan-Feb 2015)

With my end of the year post being finished I think it’s the perfect time to look at the last dramas that are set to air soon. What awaits for us  in the beginning of 2016? Well, well surprise surprise for the looks of it, Alzheimer’s will be a popular topic…. especially lawyers with Alzheimer’s – I’m talking about Memory and the currently airing drama Remember (was mentioned in my Dec-Jan post); Memory is set to air in March so I didn’t add it in this post. There are also some fake marriage plots, casting in dramas I can’t understand and dramas based on webtoons.

Frankly I’m not excited at all for these following dramas with the exception of two. (post will be updated as details will appear for January – February dramas)

Cheese in the trap – tvN (airing date: January 4 / Number of episodes TBA

One of the dramas I’m actually looking forward to is ‘Cheese in the trap’. I don’t know the webtoon, I’m not interested to read it and I don’t like the writer of the drama but the casting combination looks interesting and I want to see how it will turn out. On top of that I love Park Hae Jin and Shin Joo Hwan. Shin Joo Hwan doesn’t have a big role but still I’m happy to see him.

Lee Sung Kyung is a favorite model of mine, however when it comes to models entering the acting world it’s always the excellent ones (Lee Chun Hee), the decent ones (Han Ji Hye) and the bad ones I won’t name but you all know who I’m talking about. Lee Sung Kyung’s acting is ….bad but I’ll enjoy the prettiness. Anyway the idea of the drama looks interesting so I will be keeping my eyes on this one.

Teaser: HERE

Signal – tvN (airing date: January 22 /Number of episodes: TBA)

Until now I loved all the tvN thriller dramas so I hope this one won’t be an exception. Considering the cast Jo Jin Woong (my ajusshi crush from 2014 after Beyond the Clouds), Kim Hye Soo and Lee Je Hoon I’m pretty sure they won’t choose just any kind of script. As for the scrip and plot, I’m really curious to see how they will make it, I mean detectives from the past and present trying to clear a case, that’s for sure interesting.

Teaser: HERE

Yeah, That’s How It Is –SBS (February 18 / Number of episodes: 60)

I hardly watched long dramas from SBS. For some reasons, their weekend dramas aren’t as good as the ones from MBC or KBS (except for “Smile, You”) but seeing Nam Gu Ri and Yoon So Yi I’ll try to watch it. No idea for how long I’ll manage to follow this drama because for now all we have about the plot is “a story about a family” – that’s nothing to look forward to, at least not for me.

The writer is Kim Soo Hyun. She wrote a lot of weekend family dramas including ‘Life is Beautiful’ (drama that was about a gay couple and their struggles to make people/their families accept the relationship).

The director worked in the past on dramas such as: All about my romance, Protect the boss, Temptation of an angel and many more.

Teaser: none at the moment

Moorim School –KBS (January 11 / Number of episodes: TBA)

The drama isn’t appealing at all to me but I’m sure that at some point I will want to see an easy to digest type of drama. The casting is bad but with a plot like Moorim School we can’t expect to have established actors or at least….actors in it. From teen actors to idols, gag men and even ‘wtf are you doing here Daniel Lindemann’ cast members I won’t expect a drama that will blow me away.

I won’t mention the director or the writer, it’s not like people will care; after all the viewers will be more interested in Lee Hyun Woo and Hong Bin.

Teaser: HERE

Descendants of the Sun – KBS (February 24 / Number of episodes: 16)

A drama about the love of people who get closer as they learn to be considerate of each other in desperate times and sacrifices made by people who throw themselves into natural disasters -dramawiki

Story wise, I don’t know if I’m interested in it but Jin Goo and Kim Ji Won are in it so I’ll watch it. Song Hye Kyo and Song Jong Ki are the main thus I’m pretty satisfied with the casting.

Luckily the writers are good, I’ve seen some of their past works and I like their writing style. Kim Won Suk co-wrote ‘The The Queen’s Classroom’ while Kim Eun Suk wrote ‘A Gentleman’s Dignity’, ‘Secret Garden’…………and ‘The Heirs’. The director, Lee Eung Bok, worked in the past on: School 2013, Dream High 1 and 2 and Secret (the one with Ji Sung and Hwang Jung Eum).

The writers and the director did have some hit and miss project here and there but I hope this time they won’t have a miss.

Teaser: HERE

Jang Youngsil: The Greatest Scientist of Joseon – KBS (January 2 / Number of episodes: 24)

A drama about an inventor during the Joseon period, that sure sounds nice. But for sure the story will also include a fight for power between the people at the palace, since that’s how saegeuk dramas are.

I tried to search for past works of the two writers but I couldn’t find anything. The director, Kim Young Jo, was the director behind dramas like Cinderella’s Sister and Hong Gil Dong

Whatever, I just watch it for Song Il Gook!

Teaser: HERE

I saw some other dramas and by the titles some sounded interesting but I couldn’t find anything about the cast or plots of those dramas. When new details will appear, I will update this post.

Leave a Reply

