[Kdrama] ‘Glamorous Temptation’ ep 1-6 ~ first impression/ opinion/review ~

Glamorous Temptation is an awesome waste of time. From the beginning I want to be honest with you all, I fast forwarded like there’s no tomorrow the first 4 episodes. Everything was boring and although I understand the need to settle the background story, I just couldn’t handle it. Even my love for Kim Sae Ron didn’t help at all. But no worries, watching episode 5 I ended up understanding the whole story thus they could’ve easily sum up everything in 2 episodes.

From the 5th episode, the story does get more interesting and intense but remains low on the development. I do understand that the big number of episodes is pushing them backwards and they will drag every second of this drama however as an avid family dramas watcher (mostly 50 episode dramas), I could tell that the first 4 episodes were a river of wasted time…. for me at least.

Really, don’t get me wrong it’s not that I hate the story, when in fact it has everything that could attract high ratings but the writer has no idea how to use all the elements of a melodrama therefore the show turned out to be dull. It’s a shame since we have Choi Kang Hee, Joo Sang Wook, Jung Jin Young and many other great actors – even the child/teen actors did good yet the delivery, the story overall lacks intensity, there’s no thrill.

Sad right? When I mention such awesome actors and they aren’t getting a good story to work with. Episode 6 was better but no big development once again. What’s weird is that the characters are actually interesting and complex however the story stands still for some odd reasons.

I won’t say much about the plot, everyone can just use AsianWiki or Dramawiki so there’s no need for me to write about it nevertheless what I want to say is that the secondary characters are somewhat more interesting than the main ones. I don’t know if it’s because of the writing yet I just like them more.

Jin Hyung Woo uses Kang Il Joo by pretending he loves her and tries to continue his plan even though his first love, Shin Eun Soo reappears into his life. Hyung Woo is flat – that’s how I see him. He is being manipulated by his mother to use Il Joo – that’s what I’ve understood from a tiny recap at the end of episode 5. Il Joo’s father starts seeing his lost lover in Eun Soo. Meanwhile Il Joo marries a weirdo that collects her hair … that kind of grossed me big times. Il Joo’s half siblings, Kang Il Do and Kang Il Ram are always against her on the other hand Il Ran and her sister-in-law, Lee Se Young, stab each other in various occasions/situations. Lovely drama, everyone hates and stabs but they are one big family.

All that being said, I must add a small thing: The director, Kim Sang Hyub was behind one of my all time favorite dramas, “Mama – nothing to fear” however the directing in “Glamorous Temptation” doesn’t live up to his former work.

Overall, this drama makes me sad because it could’ve been such an interesting show to watch.

5 comments

  1. Awwww i am quite the opposite. I do find myself enjoying the drama because it is lowkey crazy. Maybe i am us3d to watching crazyfest 50+ dramas that when this aired i am like there is no crazy. The crazies here are soft and they dont get my bp rising. Hehe..it is getting more interesting…well in my opinion

    1. Hahaha that’s why we are all different XD I’m used with family dramas where a lot of stuff happen, especially in the firs 10 or so episodes so watching GT felt like a soft drama

      1. HEHEHE….I agree…Also, I have noticed a correlation, if my real life is full of drama, I want my dramas to be an easy, non-hectic watch. hehe!

  2. Anonymous · · Reply

    Me, too I actually find this drama addicting. It is full of plot twist… although the twist is not something that I haven’t seen before. Maybe I rarely watch revenge plot and this is probably a few I did.

Leave a Reply

