[Kdrama] ‘Oh My Ghost’ ep 1&2 ~ first impression/ opinion/review ~

Picking a random drama to watch can be a good chance to discover new and good dramas. As a drama watcher, most of the times I look at the casting, production staff and most importantly the writer of the project but there are times when I prefer to start a drama without looking at all that and just see for myself what it becomes of it.

I didn’t had a reason to start ‘Oh My Ghost’ yet I did hunch what it might be about considering the title but I wasn’t 100% sure about the plot and even now I didn’t read it. In the meantime, I just want to discover the story and not have it on a plate, reading the plot from different drama sites.

After just two episodes I can honestly say that I just found my drama crack for the next couple of months. The story does remind me of ’49 Days’ but with less dramatic stuff (for now) still that doesn’t mean I don’t like the drama, I love it and the first two episodes were enough to come to this conclusion and frankly admit it: the drama is good and it was exactly what I was in need of at this point since I was in a bit of a drama slump. I mean, it’s amazing how fast time flies by and you don’t even realize it when you watch something you enjoy.

The acting is great and the two actresses, Park Bo Young and Kim Seul Gi match so well. It’s rare to find two actresses (actors) that can go hand in hand so well while playing the same character. When Bong Soon is possessed by Soon Ae’s ghost, Park Bo Young actually acts as if she is Seul Gi acting the character. It’s nice finding two charming actresses giving life to a character while keeping the similarities.

The comedic part of the show reminds me a lot of the older dramas where the comedy played a big role in constructing the story and making it less melodramatic as how dramas nowadays are starting to turn. The comical side makes the story easy to digest and gives the drama a dash of ecstasy. I remember drams such as ‘Coffee Prince’ and ‘My Girl’ where the funny moments were fulfilling that’s exactly what I feel from ‘Oh My Ghost’ and that is the main reason why it resembles the 2004-2007 dramas.

I’m curious to see how things will go further into the story and if the Chef will fall for Bong Soon or Soon Ae since the later one possesses the body. It will be interesting to see if Soon Ae will have moments of letting go of Bong Soon’s body or if she is going to use it to find more about her lost memories. Will the Chef fall for Bong Soon in the moments when the body won’t be possessed or when it will be? That’s the big question. For now I do have a small idea on where the story will go: Soon Ae will mostly use Bong Soon to find more about herself and then she will probably be able to ‘cross over’.

It was a short review/opinion post but for now, all I can say is that ‘Oh My Ghost’ will be a fun ride and I’m expecting a lot from this drama.

4 comments

  1. […] First impressions […]

  2. That first pic… she reminded me so much of Kim Sun-ah’s Sam-soon in MNIKSS. like a younger and more hesitant version. Glad to know the two actresses are rocking their roles.

    1. I think I need to see MNIKSS 😄

      Both are doing an awesome job in the drama and they kind of take the spotlight ^o^

  3. Zantine · · Reply

    I’m really enjoying this drama… I have watched it from Ep 1 to 6 and I find my self anticipating the next episode. I find the characters very interesting… the chef (I so like him… his character is well explored) and also character of Soon Ae is really refreshing… Na bong soon is quite a mystery and yet to be reveal… I hope she live up with Soon Ae character.

Leave a Reply

