[Kdrama] ‘Warm and Cozy’ ep 1&2 ~ first impression/ opinion/review ~

I’m not a Hong sister dramas fan, for some reason I think the two write scripts that are in a way ‘woman fantasy’ focused. What I mean is that they seem to introduce into their stories stuff that normally most women like, for example the rich arrogant guy who transforms into a sheep as he falls in love with a normal girl. Personally, I don’t find their work that exciting; however actors or actresses that I like are (always) a part of their dramas so somehow I end up watching their stuff.

‘Warm and cozy’ follows the trend of their past dramas but sprinkled with a little more comedy. The first two episodes were more on the pleasant comedy side and although messy I found myself laughing the whole time.

To be frank, the first episode didn’t have a focus. There were some scenes there and here just to introduce the characters but that’s how first episodes normally are so I’m not going to judge a whole drama just form the first one. The second episode was much better and the story is finally getting a start with the two main spending time together.  One thing I welcome is the growing friendship between the main characters, Baek Gun Woo (played by Yoo Yeon Seok) and Lee Jung Joo (played by Kang So Ra). I liked that side of the story and the fact that the writers didn’t pursue the all over used part where the two main lead fight each other like there is no tomorrow from the very first episode.

Strangely, I like the friendship part fairly more than the idea of a love relationship. Don’t know why, but Gun Woo and Jung Joo match as pals and barely as possible lovers. Even so, that’s how I think now about the connection between them, probably in the next episodes I will change my mind over their love-line.

As I already said it, the comedy part and the audition of Yoo Yeon Seok and Kang So Ra make me stay with the drama but if I am to be honest if ‘Warm and Cozy’ didn’t had none of those, then I would’ve sent it flying out the window right away. Still, I normally watch at least 4 episodes before giving up on a drama since a lot of dramas have a rocky start and then when the story and its characters establish within the idea of the whole drama, everything becomes better.

Other than the comedy part, I don’t know if it’s thanks to the actors, but I enjoy the characters. Nothing out of this world but they are ‘cozy’ and enjoyable like a good neighbor. Gun Woo and Jung Joo are a good team and characters that lead well the story with their comical interaction and what not emotional one later on but that’s to be seen. The transition from comedy to sadness is well made and makes the characters look delightful in what they do. Gun Woo is one charming character with a tender side who showed to be a good listener where Jung Joo is an inspiring person who always tries to cheer herself up no matter how hard things may turn to be, on the other side she is frail and even easy to break apart.

One of the characters that I’m most curious about is the mayor, Hwang Wook (played by Kim Sung Oh). I really want to know what’s his deal and purpose in the drama.

For now, although I can’t say that I enjoyed the story I will be looking forward to see what it can bring us. After all, Hong sisters’ dramas were normally hits but can also be cheesy and cringe worthy. There is a thin line between fail or success so we’ll have to wait and see how things can develop because it was already showed in other dramas, even if the actors are good it doesn’t matter if the script can’t complete the acting.

There is also the part that we still don’t have much information about the story nor more details regarding the characters so the viewers have to go with what they receive that’s why I’m keeping myself out from sticking a tag on this drama, but that’s for now.

The first two episodes weren’t wholly bad or anything like that, just that I didn’t understood the idea of the story other than two young people moving to Jeju where they will fall in love with each other. Hope that the writers will focus on the story as well and not only on the characters because these two , characters and story, need to fit and match well so that a good drama will be made.

Anyway, my verdict after the two episodes is that we need to wait a little bit before we judge the whole show. For not, it just needs to work a little more on its base.

One comment

  1. […] First impressions […]

Leave a Reply

