[Jdrama] ‘Kyo wa Kaisha Yasumimasu’ ep 1&2 ~ first impression/ opinion/review ~

I will so love this drama!

Even though the concept is already overly used in mostly all Asian dramas (especially Korean and Japanese ones) I found myself enjoying “Kyo wa Kaisha Yasumimasu” (“Today I’ll take the day off”). I really didn’t expect to like it as much as I do, but the first two episodes did pump up my interest for the story and how things will develop next.

The plot is pretty simple: a timid 30 years virgin woman, named Aoishi Hanae,finds herself between a younger guy, Tanokura Yuto, and a successful grown up man, Asao Yu. On the day she turns 30, Hanae loses her virginity to Yuto.

Losing her virginity on her 30th birthday, this sure is a cliché even for dramas… however they didn’t force it too much, moreover I liked that Hanae was portrayed pretty close to reality – I mean she is timid and slept with her much younger co-worker, but the whole thing wasn’t pushed way too much which made me enjoy the flow.

I’m really curious why Yuto is serious about Hanae, not that she isn’t good enough for him but it seemed like he was interested in her for a bit longer than we know, yet, not too long ago he was dating someone else. Even so, I find him really fishy in the second episode; does he really like Hanae or is there something more behind his smile, because let’s be honest, things are going a little too smooth for just the first two episodes, there has to be something about Yuto asking Hanae out because I find it weird how he checks her up every time he asks something, it’s like he wants to see how she reacts. Maybe Yuto wanted to see if he can waver her heart …?

On the other hand, there is also Yu who also seems interested in Hanae, but in the first episode his interest range is mainly him liking to tease her. Still, the teasing isn’t like how other dramas show it, in “Kyo wa Kaisha Yasumimasu”, Yu just likes her reactions every time he hits the spot, more than that he isn’t doing it out of malice. Personally, Yu makes me more curious on why he is giving so much attention to Hanae.

Although the first episode doesn’t reveal much about why he always initiates conversations with Hanae, in the second episode we (half –way) find out the reason. What surprised me in the second episode was that when Hitomi went after him during the office party, Yu told her that he already has someone on his mind for a while, so him following Hanae or talking with her every time she appears may not be something without any hidden intentions.

A thing which I liked a lot about this drama, is that the people from her workplace aren’t in any way mean towards her. Given Hanae’s shy personality the co-workers don’t disregard her as I was expecting. Although it may seem like they do disregard her by making Hanae make them coffee or repair the printer (?) and so on, even so they don’t do it in a mockery way, but rather because she is the one who can do those things in a manner that satisfies them – pretty much if Hanae skips a day, her co-workers are kinda lost.

Overall, I liked the first episode. The main and side characters were all shown to the viewers but without revealing everything just enough to attract the attention of the viewer. First episodes are rather hard to please most of the times, nevertheless this drama successfully delivered an interesting first and second episode in which we get to see a lot but not too much, yet the exact amount to make me want to follow the story out of curiosity on how things will go forward.

As for the acting, it’s good, however I still consider Fukushi Sota a green actor in comparison to Ayase Haruka, Tamaki Hiroshi or even Chiba Yudai.

Side notes: one of the producers in the same who made “Hotaru no Hikari” (both seasons) and Anego. The writer also wrote “Hachimitsu to Clover” and “Proposal Daisakusen”.

5 comments

  1. Thank you for the review! I’m interested in this one but I think I’ll have to check it out when it is finished airing. It seems like a marathon drama to me. 🙂

    1. Thanks for reading. To be honest, I would rather recommend to marathon it because I made the mistake of watching the first two episodes and then I stayed all night to read the manga because I was too curious.

      1. The drama seems to be deviating a fair bit from the manga, from what I hear? Yu seems to be more prominent in the drama (though his screentime is still woefully little for me, hehe, need more Tamaki Hiroshi!).

      2. Yes, the drama is deviating from the manga.The beginning is different from what I’ve seen but probably they did it so to make people more curious because in the manga there is a little detail given to the readers much more earlier.

        But to be honest, I like the beginning of the drama more than the manga.

  2. I enjoyed everything about this drama so much! And each character was written in such a real way. The actors were wonderful, each and every one of them added so much to the drama. Words fail me! I just loved it so much!

Leave a Reply

