Looking forword list of Asian dramas for the spring ~ 2014

I must warn all of you before entering this post; this season’s drama list is full of shows which I choose based mostly on the cast line-up rather than the story. Yes, the story are also okay, and I can say that I’m looking forward for the stories as well, but this time, the actors played a bigger role in me choosing what to watch next.

This post includes spring dramas from Taiwan, Korea and Japan.

Gap Dong

Probably the drama I look forward the most is “Gap Dong” with Lee Joon of Mblaq and Yoon Sang Hyun. Reason: as already mentioned, first reason it’s because I like both Lee Joon and Yoon Sang Hyun, second reason because I like these kinds of dramas where I don’t know what’s happening, with hidden messages behind their words and actions. From what I saw from the trailers, “Gap Dong” it’s definitely the type of drama on which I can’t do the “fast forwarding” activity known as “I know what will happen therefore I’ll just skip a little so I won’t lose important time on it”. And forgot to mention an important bonus: Sung Dong Il!

Plot:

20 years ago Moo Yeom’s (Yoon Sang Hyun) father was a suspect in the “Gap Dong” serial murder case. Because of the detectives’ oppressive investigation, Moo Yeom’s father killed himself.

Now, Moo Yeom is a detective and works to capture the killer Gap Dong. The statue of limitations has expired for the serial murder case and Moo Yeom resigns to the belief that Gap Dong is dead. New clues though for Gap Dong appears in front of Moo Yeom and he sets out to catch him once and for all.   – cr. asiawiki

Well, I suppose these are enough reasons for me to watch “Gap Dong”.

Golden Cross

Another revenge drama awaits for us. To be honest, the whole thing about the company that controls the economy of the country and the guy who wants to take revenge for the death of his loved ones isn’t appealing to me at the moment, especially after being emotionally drained while watching “Beyond the Clouds”, but this drama does have something alluring to it.

Reasons: The cast is playing an important role for me in choosing to watch “Golden Cross”, actors such as: Kim Kang Woo, Lee Si Young and Uhm Ki Joon. Second reason, is the writer, Yoo Hyun Mi – she also wrote Bridal Mask. The director is a little on the ‘meh’ side with me, considering that he is the one behind the disaster drama known as “Marry me, Marry” however, we have a second chance with the Chef Director, who has under his drama palette lots of KBS drama specials, “Brain” and The “Blade and Petal”.

Plot:

Kang Do Yoon (Kim Kang Woo) cares for his mother and younger sister a lot, but his younger sister is murdered. He then decides to take revenge upon the perpetrator. -cr. Asiawiki

Taiwanese dramas:

Fall in Love With Me

The story behind this drama is simplistic, and maybe overly used in Taiwanese dramas, however all this in a good way. I won’t really expect a lot from it, since it’s an idol drama, but I will most definitely try and enjoy it as it is.

Japanese dramas:

Most awaited Japanese drama of the season, for me it’s Mozu!

Plot:

Kuraki (Hidetoshi Nishijima) is a police superintendent. He lost his beloved wife in a bomb incident.

Kuraki, Detective Osugi (Teruyuki Kagawa) and Miki (Yoko Maki) from the Secret Police discovers the existence of contract killer Mozu, a tragedy caused by a secret mission by public security and a scheme which shakes the nation. Miki also holds the key to solve bomb incident. -cr asiawiki

Reasons: aside from the thrilling plot, “Mozu” has a great line up cast, such as: Hasegawa Hiroki (Suzuki Sensei, Kaseifu no Mita), Nishijima Hidetoshi (Double Face, Yae no Sakura, Team Batista), Kagawa Teruyuki (Hanzawa Naoki, MR. BRAIN, Double Face) and Maki Yoko (Saikou no Rikon, SP, Like Father, Like Son).

Alice no Toge

Reason: I’m not sure about this drama, whether I will like it or not, but the story seems promising. But this time I’m not choosing the drama based on the cast, I do like the cast, they are good actors but not really my cup of tea, however the story is a blend of something new and something old in regards of Japanese dramas.

Plot:

Mizuno Asumi is a doctor at the University Hospital. Her only objective in life is to avenge the death of her father, a death caused by immoral and negligent doctors. She wants to reveal to the world their mistakes and corrupt behaviors, with the hope of preventing them from furthering their practise as doctors. – cr dramawiki

This list may be updated but for now, those are the dramas I’m looking forward to watch.

Leave a Reply

