[Cdrama] ‘Prince of Lan Ling’ episodes 1-20 ~ first impression/opinion ~

Got a new obsession: Prince of Lan Ling

I normally don’t like historical dramas, however from time to time I start getting obsessed with a historical series, like for example: Warrior Baek Dong Soo, Empress Ki, Bu Bu Jing Xin and now Prince of Lan Ling.

Since my historical drama palette has been opened again by Empress Ki, I decided to give Prince of Lan Ling a chance, but a big portion of my decision was also because the good reviews this show got, and guess what, I love it!

Plot from dramawiki:

A prophecy foretold that victory goes to the one who has the priestess’ blessing. Yang Xue Wu, the last priestess of her clan, unwittingly embroiled in a war between Northern Qi and Northern Zhou. Although she foresees a tragic fate for Lan Ling Wang, the military general of Northern Qi, she nonetheless falls in love with him and helps him win the war against Yuwen Yong, the Emperor of Northern Zhou. However, her action only brings him closer to his fate. As his standing among his people grows, so does the murderous jealousy in Crown prince’s heart. Can she protect him when it’s family who wants him dead?

To be honest, the first 5 episodes weren’t that good, a bit boring I may say, however after episode 5 I just started to watch episode after episode, and currently I finished 20 episodes in 3 days.

So far I like everything about the story, cast, writing and so on, especially, I like the fact that they don’t show just one side of the fence, meaning the side of the story from Prince Lan Ling’s view, the view from Yuwen Yong is also shown giving fairness towards every character.

The love story between The Prince and Xue Wu, the two portray a rather natural love-relationship, but at the same time showing the viewers the bad, good, hardships and happiness of that era, moreover in a world that spins around harsh rules.

As much as I like The Prince and Xue Wu as a pair, I can’t help but like Yuwen Yong with her even more. Compared to Lan Ling, Yuwen Yong always showed himself as being strict person with a rough personality, however both The Prince and Yuwen Yong never felt real love until they meet Xue Wu who changed the two and even enforced their view on life and what happiness means.

Even if the viewer somehow see Yuwen Yong as a negative character, in the beginning, as the story progresses, and thanks to Xue Wu who starts to slowly crack his mask, we start to notice his human side and not only the King, who has a duty towards his people but always cornered by those who want his death.

Yuwen Yong : Everyone sees me as a monster. They either want me dead or want me to become an overlord, only you Xue Wu see me as a person with feelings.

While the story goes forward, Xue Wu doesn’t make only Yuwen Yong change; although she always has faith and puts trust in everyone and every time gets into all kind of troubles because of the trust she has in other people, but with that trust Xue Wu changes every person she meets during her journey towards maturity.

Another person who was changed by Xue Wu and is a key character that helps her development from an innocent girl to a royal is Han Xiao Dong; a man from the Beggars village who in the first episodes, tried to sell/cheat Xue Wu into entering a inn that sells girls. However, even though he made Xue Wu go through hard moments, thanks to her personality, they become friends….but to be honest I secretly (still) wish for him to have feelings for her … ehem ehem.

For now, and form what I saw in these 20 episode, “The Prince of Lan Ling” is a great show, that can be viewed and more importantly liked by every gender, be it women or men, since it has bits of everything from love, war , friendship and even comical scenes.  I plan to marathon the other episodes and finish the whole series this weekend.

8 comments

  1. I was thinking of giving this drama a try and after reading your post I think I will definitely be watching this one!

    I nominated you for the liebster award! http://hm-viewsnreviews.blogspot.com/2014/02/liebster-award.html

    1. Give it a try, don’t get scared because of the number of episodes.

      Thank you for the nomination, I will update soon, thanks! ^ ^

  2. Historical dramas are my favorite. I am watching Empress Ki, although It is not the best historical I’ve seen but it is entertaining. And I love Bu Bu Xin Jin. This one is on my list already and your review has given a push up the list 🙂

    1. At the beginning I didn’t knew if I should watch it or not, but when I started watching, I ended up marathoning the series – today I will finish the whole drama 😄

  3. Sayuri · · Reply

    Hi! I want to watch this drama really bad after seeing one of the later episodes on tv. May I ask what website did you use to watch it? I cant find any complete videos online

    1. With English subs, it’s complete on dramafever and viki.

      For raw videos try sugoinow.com

  4. i realy love this movie but i have only watch 2 seasons can somebody tell me where i can get the complete season.

    1. From what I am aware of, Prince Of Lan Ling has 46 episodes and is not cut down to seasons. If you watched those 46 episodes then it means you watched the whole drama. However, i think there are also other versions like “Princess of Lanling King” but it’s a different drama from ‘Prince of Lan Ling’ and has yet to air on tv.

Leave a Reply

