[Kdrama] Autumn 2013 drama season ~ Looking forward dramas

Yohoho! Autumn is here therefore new dramas are soon going to air which I’m looking forward to watch.  After searching a little about the up-coming shows, I have to say, we’ll have a bunch of good older actors – rather than ‘old’ I should say ‘actors we are already used with/seen until now – and some new faces.

This post contains the dramas I am looking forward to watch.

1. Basketball

Plot: Drama series is set within the turbulent period between the Japanese colonial era and the division of Korea into North and South. Kang San is from a poor family. He struggles to get away from poverty. Through the game of basketball, he becomes successful and meets a girl from the upper class. He dreams of their love overcoming the disparity in their social standing. (cr: asianwiki)

To be honest, I was a little confused when I saw the plot, at first I thought it’s the long-and- eager awaited ‘Reply 1994’, however that’s not the case, “Basketball” isn’t ‘Reply 1994’. Although both dramas have a similar subject, the whole concept is totally different.

One of the big fat points that I’m giving this drama is for the fact that they use young actors and actresses like for example: Do Ji Han, Jung Dong Hyun, Lee Elijah, Kim Bo Mi.  Also another reason why I’m looking forward to this drama is because of the director, Kwak Jung Hwan who also directed ‘Chuno’.

“Basketball” is scheduled to air on October 21th on tvN and will have 24 episodes.

2. Will You Love and Give It Away?

Plot:  The story is about an older married couple at their second marriage and their grown up children who have to deal living together.

Reminds me a little, tinny bit of ‘Smile, You’ with the story of two families that went through different situations but now they have to live together. Judging from the pictures/stills – I know I shouldn’t do that since it’s too early – but this drama seems fun.

The main actors are:  Lee Sang Yeob (also acted in ‘Nice guy’) and Hong Soo Hyun (other projects “History of the Salaryman”; “Goodbye Dear Wife”; “The Princess’ Man”).

“Will You Love and Give It Away?” will air after ‘I summon you Gold” and from the plot it seems like another family drama with 50 episodes.

3. Reply 1994

Plot: Through the characters, drama series follows various cultural events in 1994, including the emergence of Kpop group “Seo Taiji and Boys” and the Korean Basketball League. (cr asianwiki)

Although I’m a little skeptical when it comes to Go Ara’s acting, Jung Woo from “You are the best Lee Soon Shin” aka ‘the bread guy’ is the main character – that’s all I need, the rest doesn’t matter.

“Reply 1994” will air in October on tvN and it’s written and directed by the same staff that did “Reply 1997”.

4. Medical Top Team

Plot: “Medical Top Team” depicts the process of treating patients by a team of doctors, considered the best in their fields, as a power struggle ensues in the hospital. (cr asianwiki)

Despite the fact that I watch a lot of medical dramas, I can’t say I’m a fan of this genre. Even so, I’m really excited for this drama, after all it does have great main cast: Kwon Sang Woo, Jung Ryeo Won and Joo Ji Hoon.

Side note, the writer of this drama, Yoon Kyung Ah, wrote “Brain” as well.

5. Unemployed Romance

Plot: Unemployment benefiter Seung Hee reunites with her first love Jong Dae who is a temporary employee at the department of unemployment. (cr hancinema)

Well the story isn’t something to actually look forward but Nam Goong Min is in it, therefore its enough for me. “Unemployed Romance” will start airing on October 5th on E Channel.

I may update this post, but for now I’m looking forward to only the dramas mentioned above.

4 comments

  1. When is basketball going to air and on which channel? Are there any trailers for basketball? Seems more interesting than reply1994

    1. The drama will air on tvN on October 21th, I haven’t found any trailers yet, but I suppose the channel will soon start to release them.

      1. Thanks! Can’t wait to watch it!

Leave a Reply

